First E-Mail Letter!

May 31, 2013

Today is Friday, which is my P-Day, so this will be the best time that I can email you all! Things at the MTC are going pretty great so far! My companion’s name is Elder Baker, and he is from American Fork. I am also living with two other Elders named Elder Savage and Elder Larsen. Elder Savage is from Utah, and Elder Larsen is from California. So far we have all gotten along pretty well, but it’s only been about two days. We all give each other crap, and give the sister missionaries crap all the time. Every time they enter the room that we are supposed to be meeting in we all greet them by saying “Immer spaet!” which means “always late,” because they are always late to everything!  Life in the residence hall is a little hectic. We were woken up at 6:00 this morning to the wonderful sound of all the Polynesian Elders next door singing as loud as they could in whatever language they were speaking. And by wonderful, I mean they sing with the same amount of talent that I have. That good.

Life at the MTC is very busy, and your whole day is planned out for you. We generally wake up at 6:30 am, and then shower and get dressed for the day. From 7:15 to 8:15 we have companionship study, and then we go and eat breakfast. The food at the MTC is okay, it’s the same food that they served at the Cannon center, so I’ve already had most of it before. For lunch yesterday, however, they had bratwurst and saurkraut as one of the options, so naturally we had to try it. Elder Baker and I thought it was pretty decent, but the other two Elders in our little group did not! They are gonna have a tough time in Germany. Anyways, from 8:45 to 10:00 we have personal study time to study the gospel. Then from 10:00 too 11:15 we have a workshop. Yesterday’s workshop was about the people we teach and the purpose of teaching them. Then from 11:15 to 12:20 we have, guess what!? More study time!! We do that ALOT here! Then from 12:20 to 1:20 we had our MTC orientation. Then from 1:20 to 2:05 we had lunch. Then from 2:05 to 2:45 we had Zone teaching. Then from 2:45 to 5:45 we had our classroom, where we study a combination of German, and how to teach people. Then from 5:45 to 6:30 we had dinner. After that we had a meeting with our branch president and the rest of our branch. We had to show up ten minutes early, though, because our branch president is a very strict man who hates it when people show up late. We aren’t allowed to say “guys, dudes, bros, etc” we must all refer to each other as Elders and Sisters. After the general meeting we had to meet with the members of the presidency, and then they’d decide which elders are the district leaders, which elders are the senior companions, and all that. Surprisingly I am the senior companion in my companionship. I did not see that coming. I don’t know what they’re thinking, but whatever.

So today is P-Day, so we don’t have much to do other than laundry, study, and email. My district is all going to go to the temple at around 10:00 so I’ll be doing that soon. I haven’t really taken any pictures yet, but I’ll work on it.

So far I have run in to Sister Boyd, so it was nice to see her! I’ve also run in to a couple of other people that I knew up at BYU, so that’s been good. We all make fun of Elder Savage because it seems like he knows just about every other person here! I guess that’s what happens when you live in Utah your whole life. I feel like I’m rambling a lot in this letter, but who cares? Honey Badger don’t care!  Speaking of which, it’s the Honey Badger/ Frito’s birthday! Happy Birthday, my crazy father of a Frito! For your birthday you get a letter from your favorite son! The best present there is!

I don’t think I need anything right now, but I’ll let you know if I do. Did I get an alarm clock? I couldn’t find it. Oh well. I miss you guys a lot already, and love you all a lot! I can’t wait to see you guys all again! Which reminds me, it says that I will be finished with my mission on April 15th, 2015. I love you guys, and can’t wait to hear back from you!

Love, Elder Austin Cassell

Leave a Reply

