2 Weeks is the perfect amount of time!

6/7/13
Sorry I haven’t been able to write any real letters to you. Since I’m only here for two weeks, I have very little time to actually sit down and write letters, but I’ll make sure to actually write you once I get to Germany! So guess what! My flight on Tuesday Morning has a layover in Dallas! I should be in the DFW airport from about 12-3 your time! I don’t know if y’all would actually be able to see me, but it’d be cool if you could.

Anyways things have been going great so far! The transfer to missionary life wasn’t actually that hard. Since I get about 7-ish hours asleep a night, it doesn’t really bother me about going to bed early or getting up early. Apparently I snore pretty loudly, so Elder Savage pretty much wants to kill me every night and morning. Speaking of which, I’ve been getting along pretty well with my companions. I count the four of us as one companionship, because we’re pretty much together 24/7. Everybody is pretty chilled for the most part, but we work hard. We have fun though, too, and are all pretty sarcastic. We give each other crap a lot. I know Tracy doesn’t like us picking on the sisters, but it’s hard not to. One sister received a letter from her boyfriend addressed to “Sister Cassandypants” so naturally we have to make fun of them for stuff like that! My German level has really improved, especially my reading and hearing. It’s a little harder to speak and write just because there are so many grammar rules, but I’ll pick that all up in Germany. I can now pretty much read all of my scriptures and understand all but a few rarely used words. We do have some awesome mistranslation stories, though! For example, we’ve taught about the teeth commandments, and how Joseph Smith ran into a wall and saw a vision. One of my favorites is when I was in a group role-play with one Elder from Mexico named Elder Hernandez; he was pretending to be an investigator who couldn’t believe in a God who would allow so much “war and cows” to exist. It took us a LONG time to figure out that he meant to say “war and chaos” we laughed really hard about that!
  
 My testimony has also really increased in this short amount of time.  That probably has to do with the fact that we are constantly teaching, studying, reading, discussing, and bearing our testimonies of the gospel.

I don’t have a lot of time, so sorry if I’m just rambling. We went to the Temple again this week, and both trips were good. To answer some of your questions, I have run in to Ka’imi three times – once when he took the picture, and briefly two other times.

Image

I am super excited to go to Germany! I feel like two weeks in the MTC is the perfect amount of time. We get the experience, but we don’t really get sick of it. I’ve taken a couple of pictures, but I forgot my camera, so I’ll get those to you as soon as I can!  Sorry if I have a bunch of spelling or grammar mistakes, these computers don’t have any kind of spell check for some reason, and I’m trying to go fast. We have had a couple gym days. We played 4-square one day, and volleyball the other days. I suck at volleyball. I learned that this week. It’s okay though, it’s a woman’s sport. I’m trying to think of other things you asked, so in the meantime I’ll just tell stories. Yesterday E. Larsen decided that he wanted to order a wrap with everything on it. EVERYTHING. All three types of tortillas, all the meats, all the dressings, all the fruits, all the vegetables. It was disgusting. I know, I had a bite.

I have to go now, but I should be able to finish up in like a half hour. 

So yeah, now I can finish my letter. I had to go get all of my laundry from the dryer, and go put them away. What else can I talk about… Food. We have our three meals a day in the cafeteria. Some of it’s pretty good, and some of it’s mediocre. This morning E. Baker and E. Savage tried to eat as much cerial as they could for the cereal challenge. They each ate about ten bowls of cocoa pebbles, and then felt really bad all through our temple session. They’re smart like that. I’ll talk a little bit more about my companions. E. Baker (my companion) is from Utah, and was going to Duke before he came here. He’s majoring in math, and is pretty smart. He played soccer in high school, and is overall a really cool guy. He’s our district leader, sowe call him Elder Distict Leader Baker because it rolls off the tongue well. Then there’s Elder Savage. He looks like a Nazi. He could have been Rolf from Sound of Music in another life. It makes sense that he’s going to Germany. He’s a pretty funny guy, also from Utah, and he went to BYU studying finance. He’s really good with working with glass, and was even part of a team of people that went to Africa to work on the stained glass on the temple in Ghanna. We make fun of him because he seems to know just about every other person here. He also refuses to wear anything but a suit, so we make fun of him. E. Larsen is the most relaxed and chill guy amongst us. He’s from San Fransico. He hasn’t done anything yet from after high school, but he’s a really cool guy.

Well I don’t have much time left, so I don’t know what else I’ll write. Why haven’t I hear from Cade or Blake? I’m disappointed that Cade didn’t send me an email saying “My dear Frodo” or anything like that. How go things around the world? I don’t know what goes on with life anymore. I’m on an entirely different planet. And I have my camera now, but the computer isn’t registering it, so I’ll figure that out later when I’m in Germany. I’ve been writing in a journal everyday, so that’s good. I’m also trying not to get fat, but we do eat a lot here. By the way, I have way too much food! I’m probably gonna end up giving up half of the food to the new missionaries! But tell grandma and Tracy thanks for the cinamon rolls!

Well I have to go now, tell everybody that I’m sorry I haven’t replied to everyone’s emails, I’ll get on that later. I love you guys, and miss you a ton!

Love, Austin AKA Elder Cassell 

 

 

Leave a Reply

