Germany…Watch Out! He’s On His Way!

I was so completely blessed to find out a couple of days ago (in his letter on Monday), that Austin’s flight was going through DFW – and that he had a 3 1/2 hour layover!! I could hardly sleep last night, I was so excited – yet so nervous that I would not be able to see him. Having him so close and not being able to see him would have killed me! Thankfully, the sweet lady at the ticket counter for American Airlines took pity on me, and gave me a security pass to go see him. I literally started crying before the 2nd word was out of my mouth. Shocker…I know! So many emotions to try to keep in check, and I didn’t do a very good job of it. BUT…she didn’t even hesitate, and got me right through! (On a side-note…NEVER wear a top with shiny – what turned out to be metallic thread through it to an airport! It comes up all red on the screen…so I got the “pat down”!!!)

I was able to see, hug, feed, and have a couple of hours to visit with my son and his companion. I bought them lunch, and listened to all of the stories from the MTC. That group of boys is SO excited to get to Germany! It made me feel so much better just to see him so happy, and completely immersed in what he is doing. I will be eternally grateful for the opportunity to see him before he left!

Here are some pics that I was able to snag. I really didn’t want to make a big spectacle of myself and embarrass my son – so I refrained somewhat. I never got a shot of the whole group, but I should have a couple of those to share once they get to Germany (the Mission will post them to their blog, and I will share them here). There were 28 in total – I’m not sure what the split was between Elders and Sister Missionaries. There were 7 (the ones in the pics below) that were “fast-tracked” – and were in Austin’s District (the group he was with in the MTC). Typically Missionaries going foreign speaking are in the MTC for 6-9 weeks depending on the language. Austin and this group were only in there 2 weeks because of previous German language knowledge. (Austin took 3 years in high school.)

I should have more information and images to share sometime tomorrow – but here are the images from today! He’s almost there! Flight is estimated to land in Frankfurt on Wednesday, 6/12 @ 8:30am (1:30am Texas time)! Thank heavens for text alerts…it will let me know when he lands!

CAS-2974E

CAS-2976E

CAS-2978E

CAS-2980EF

CAS-2986E CAS-2989E-w

CAS-2984E

CAS-2985E-W

CAS-2994E

CAS-2995E

CAS-2998E

EnRoute-3

One thought on “Germany…Watch Out! He’s On His Way!

  1. so proud of you, Elder Cassell! I love you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

