The Hills are Alive with the Sound of Music

I am currently wearing my Gryffindor tie. Today is a good day. So this has been a pretty crazy week. To start off, I am sad to say that I did not purchase a lightsaber last Monday. Only one store had them, they were pretty expensive, and they only had Obi-Wan’s blue lightsaber. Blue is way too mainstream amongst the missionaries here. I want either a green or a purple lightsaber, or “Laserschwert” as they are called here in Germany. We are going thrift shopping today, so I’ll see if I can find one then. We found one really cool thrift shop last week, so we’re gonna go by some other ones to see what kind of awesome stuff we can find. Apparently the song “Thrift Shop” never really hit it off here in Germany, so all of the thrift shops are still pretty cheap and actually have interesting stuff to buy. So that’s my plan for today. What happened this last week.

Well after we went Laserschwert hunting last week, we went and got me my first dönner at a small little dönner shop fairly close to our apartment. Let me just say: dönners are awesome! It was the perfect combination of meat, vegetables, freshness, grease, spicyness (since they’re a Turkish food it actually was spicy”, and overall deliciousness. The guy that made them for us was super cool, and gave us some free Turkish drinks because he liked us, and said he had a lot of respect for guys that would pay money and give up two years of their lives to share what they believe. The only problem was that the drink was pretty disgusting. It was basically a watery combination of non flavored yogurt and sour cream. Elder Kalt almost threw up. We of course lied to him and said that they were delicious, but then promptly took them back to our apartment and threw them down the sink once we had left. We haven’t really had that much time to really do any lessons or go out teaching this week, most of our time went to preparing for our church’s open house. We made posters and flyers, went out and distributed them, and then did other things to prepare for the day like clean the church building, and attending meetings. Most of the time Elder Watson and I would end up working with the other two missionaries, which is always good.

I get along pretty well with the other Elders, so that’s good. I probably get along with Elder Kalt the best. The two of us have a lot of fun singing songs together and telling stupid jokes. We mainly sing songs from “Wicked” for some reason. He likes to sing “Popular” almost every other hour. We’re planning on making some pretty cool rap videos about the mission to the beats of various songs. Be excited for that. One thing that I’ve definitely learned from this experience of living with only one other person, or sometimes three others, is that my future wife is gonna have to be just about as crazy as I am in order to put up with me. I’ve pretty much become known as the guy that does voices. My Gollum voice is appreciated by all, so I’m happy.

So the big thing I guess that happened this week was that we had our open house on Saturday. It definitely didn’t go as well as we had hoped, though. We only had one lady show up for the English course that we were teaching. I was worried that the ward would take it badly, and be discouraged, but they reacted quite differently. They all reacted fairly positively, and just said that now we know what not to do next time. Even though we didn’t really have any success with the open house, I still enjoyed my day. I was able to get to know more of the people in my ward a little better, and got to spend just some chill time with the other Elder’s, which is good. I’ve learned that it’s good to be positive when you’re a missionary, which is good for me because I’m usually a pretty positive person. Being positive will generally make you much happier.

Last night was pretty awesome.The four of us went to the Nesson’s house for dinner. They’re an older family in our ward, and they’re awesome! They both speak English, which is nice, and Sister Neeson made me my first real German meal! She made us a beef goulasch, with rotkohl, dumplings, and spätzle, complete with tiramisu for dessert. It was all so freaking good! Definitely one of the best meals I’ve had so far! I love food. Food is awesome.

I guess the last thing I want to talk about is just something that I’ve kind of realized this week. I’m not going to be the same when I come back. I can feel myself maturing a little more with each day that passes. There was a moment this week when Elder Watson and I were taking a train to get to a meeting when I realized that I was sitting on a train, in Germany, in a suit, discussing the important topics that we would all need to discuss in the district planning and correlation meeting we were heading to. It was the most “adult” I’ve ever felt in my whole life. I then realized that this was going to be my life for the next two years. Although I am here primarily to teach the gospel and help people in any way that I can, I know that my life will never quite be the same. By helping others I am preparing myself for the world. Missions really do turn boys in to men. That all being said, like I said earlier, I’m still my crazy self. I`m just maturing somehow. Anyways I’m done here. I’m off to find a lasershwert.

Tschüs
Elder Austin Cassell

Leave a Reply

