“Good News” / “Wie gut”

Howdy people,

So this week has been a pretty awesome week! Why you ask? Because Monday stared off pretty awesome! I was able to buy a harmonica (which I suck at for now, but I plan to master the art), I got to eat some super tasty ice cream, and best of all the family that we’ve been meeting with for a while told us that they wanted to be baptized! That was so awesome! We had an appointment to meet with them for about an hour just to teach a lesson with a member from our ward, but that lesson ended up going for over three hours. It went over so long just because they had so many questions about things that they’ve heard about from other people/ the internet. I was totally happy with that, though, I love questions like that, and the member we brought with us was super helpful because he used to be a Bishop and seemed to pretty much know everything. So yeah, towards the end of the lesson they kind of just turned to Elder Watson and I and asked when they could be baptized. That took us by surprise. But we have their baptism scheduled now for the 27th of this month, which is AWESOME. We’ve met with them a couple times since then, and they are just really great people. They’re about 24 and 25, and he’s in school to become a children’s educator. They’re just super nice and fun, and full of love. It’s awesome. So yeah, that definitely set a good tone for the rest of the week! Also I’m super excited because their cat just had some kittens, and we get to meet with them this Thursday, so I get to see new kittens!

I’m pretty sure that Elder Kalt and I, mainly me, are driving Elder Watson and Elder Brown crazy. Last P-day E. Kalt bought the German “Wicked” soundtrack. So guess what we’ve been listening to? I’ve already got a good amount of “Dancing through Life” or rather “Tanz durch die Welt” memorized, and little bits and pieces from all of the other songs. Once I have that song down, the next song I’m gonna learn will be “Popular” or as the Germans would say “Heißgeliebt.” Between me singing all of the time, and my horrible playing of the harmonica, I’m really surprised that Elder Watson hasn’t strangled me in my sleep yet. My awesome personality must be worth the annoyance. That or he’s just obeying the 6th commandment. Probably the former of the two.

So yeah, the rest of my week has been rather marvelous. On Tuesday we got to have district meeting, which means that we got to go to our Chinese restaurant for lunch, which is always good. I’ve decided that tomorrow I will order the “Drachen Feuer” or “Dragon Fire” which is the hottest thing on the menu. It’ll probably be about as spicy as flaming hot Cheetos. That’s what I’m expecting. We also got to meet with an elderly lady from our ward, who made us some tasty berry cream pancakes. She also played her super expensive and huge harmonica for us, that put mine to shame. Then she told us stories about her past which was really cool. We all found a really cool thrift shop where I bought some pretty sweet stuff. I bought an awesome Martin Luther translation German student bible, from 1911, which was in really good condition. I was also able to buy all three of the “Lord of the Rings” movies in German(Does that make Cade proud of me? They’re not extended, but I looked for those). All for 8 euro. Deal! That made me super happy! We’re gonna go back there, and I’ll probably buy a German Harry Potter book to send home. We also got to have dinner with our Bishop and his wife that night which was cool. She made us a super traditional German mean of weinerschnitzel, spätzle, and red cabbage. It was so good! I love food! Then, since he’s a beekeeper, he showed us all of his bees and I got to put on a beekeeper suit. It was awesome!

Well I’m all out of time, but the rest of the week was awesome too! More nice people, more good food, a baptism in Kaiserslautern and other shenanigans.

Tschüss,

Elder Austin Cassell

 

Yummy Food

Yummy Food

One of our meetings

One of our meetings

Movie Theatre

Movie Theatre

Our apartment...note the Texas flag.  Cade would be proud.

Our apartment…note the Texas flag. Cade would be proud.

Apartment

Apartment

The shower I hate

The shower I hate

We make our own food too!

We make our own food too!

A little taste of America

A little taste of America

Knighting of a Jedi

Knighting of a Jedi

Yeah...we are that cool.

Yeah…we are that cool.

Saarbruken

Saarbruken

Saarbruken

Saarbruken

Apparently they like Texas here too!

Apparently they like Texas here too!

One thought on ““Good News” / “Wie gut”

  1. Hi Austin,

    I LOVE your emails! It sounds like you are having a great time on your mission. The people you meet can’t help but feel of your happy, enthusiastic spirit and want a part of what you have to give!

    I laughed about the harmonica because Brent really got into playing a harmonica on his mission.

    Keep up the great work!

    Love,

    Aunt Nancy

    Like

Leave a Reply

