Was willst du von mir?

Well I guess that this is going to be my nice, long letter that I promised that I’d write. I don’t know why I should, though. What have you ever done for me?   Hahaha.  Just kidding!   By the way, the title means “what do you want from me?”.  This was retaliation because my letter to him was titled something like “you are such a twit!” translated into German, because it took him several days to tell me his wallet was lost!   Speaking of German, my language is still coming along pretty well. I definitely think that I’m ahead of the game. My grammar has definitely improved lately. There’s still stuff I need to work on, of course, but it’s getting better. There are still times where I’ll get lost in a conversation, but I usually manage fairly well. A lot of members and people say that I speak very well, so that’s always good to hear. I just really need to start enhancing my vocabulary, but that comes with time, I suppose.

We met our new comp on Thursday. His name is Elder Olson, and he seems like a pretty cool guy. He’s a Philadelphia Eagles fan, though. I do not approve. Anyways he’s a cool guy, and he’s been out here for about a year so grammar wise and vocab wise he’s pretty good at German. I think we’ll all get along well, and will work well together.

So Wednesday was my birthday. Woo!  I’m 20. I don’t feel any older, though. It really didn’t feel like it was my birthday either. It felt like it was a normal day, but people kept telling me Happy Birthday. We went over to the Schröder’s house for lunch like I said we would. It was really fun, because they are awesome. They have the two cutest kids.  Speaking of which, I am proud to say that I am now officially Anita’s (their super incredibly shy but cute two-year-old little girl) best friend. People tried to tell me that it couldn’t be done, but I showed them all just how good I am with kids! Other than her family, I’m pretty much the only person in the ward and probably the world that she likes. She’s funny to watch going through church because she hides her face in her parent’s shoulders and tries not to look at anyone, and if someone tries to say hi to her or anything like that she’ll start crying and freaking out a little bit. Everyone except me. Now she will talk to me and is happy to see me. Last Sunday she kept giving me hugs, climbing on my back, trying to sit on my lap and playing games with me. Then Elder Watson tried to give her a high five and she started crying and ran to her mom. But she does that with everybody. I am just good!  It took me a while, but I won. The rest of the ward doesn’t understand how I did it, and some of them are kind of jealous which I think is funny. Elder Kalt is probably the most jealous. Muahahah! But anyways we went there for my birthday, they made me burritos which was my favorite meal that she’s made us. They were delicious of course! They also made me a tort that said “Zum Geburtstag Elder Cassell! Viva La Texas!” because they always tease me about my Texan pride. Then they gave me a bar of chocolate, and I was happy.

We didn’t do a whole lot else for my birthday.  We did some normal missionary work – contacting, appointments, etc.  I got a card from Grandpa which was cool. I also got to talk to Sister Schwartz (the Mission President’s wife) for a little bit because she calls all of the missionaries on their birthdays. That was really nice. And Elder Kalt gave me a birthday card that said something like “You suck, but it’s not all bad because it’s your birthday!” and then for my present he gave me a cd that he found on the ground the day before, which happened to have a bunch of Indian rap songs. So basically it was the best present ever.  I love my flash drive, by the way. I bought myself a 32 gig one about a month or so ago, and now I have like 3500 songs on it. Some of them are repeats though, because we all share music. So I’ve got a bunch of Disney duplicates and mo tab (Mormon Tabernacle Choir) duplicates and what not. I also have a bunch of talks and what not. Also German “Wicked”, which we have all decided is better than the American Wicked. Especially Glinda.  The German one is awesome. So that’s some homework for you, listen to German wicked for fun. Some of the translations are funny. Like “defying gravity” turns into “flying free and weightless”.

So I managed to get my package on Thursday. Elder Kalt was able to get it from the Elder that got it for me in Frankfurt, because they both happened to be in the same city later during transfer day. I’m wearing my Batman watch right now! Thanks for all of the stuff, it’s all pretty dang sweet! Good job! The blanket is a bit small, but I just decided it’s just gonna be the blanket I carry around in the morning when I’m cold, so it works. We have however decided that the 20Q game is kinda lame. It hasn’t guessed very many of the things we thought of which I thought was weird, since my old one used to guess just about anything. But whatevs, it’s still cool. I also got my lightsaber of course, so make sure to tell Kim thanks for me! It’s pretty darned sweet! All the other Elders are pretty jealous, so that makes the evil side of me happy! I definitely think that the watch is my favorite though, so good choice! It has two little buttons on the side though, that we don’t think do anything, so we can’t figure out why they’re there.

There’s not a whole lot of other stuff I can talk about, though. Not a whole lot has happened lately. We get to go to the Zoo with the ward this Saturday, which will probably be fun. Last week we had a ward Sommerfest party. That was fun, we got to wear normal clothes and hang out and play games with the ward and the kids in the ward. We played a little water balloon baseball thing where the members had to hit a water balloon with a “baseball bat” basically a stick. That was funny. Germans don’t know how to swing a bat. Then some of the kids and I tied up Elder Kalt and through water balloons at him. That was fun. Elder Brown I think has a bunch of those pictures, so I’ll try and get him to send them to me. I’ll also try and get some of the birthday pictures that the others took at some point.

So yeah, that’s how life is going over here in good ol’ Deutschland. I miss you guy a bunch. Mainly Huba.  (“Huba” is our dog’s nickname).  But I’m having fun here and I am always busy doing something, so I don’t really get homesick. I do miss you guys though! I made a joke with the Schröders about how if I was at home my family would shove my face in the cake (this is a tradition we have had in our family since my mother, Austin’s Grandmother put her face in her own cake when she was one!). They thought that was weird. Germans. So yeah, I miss y’all a ton, and that definitely includes you my most dear and silly mother. Thanks for all of the awesome presents! Try not to miss me too much, but I know that’s impossible because I’m so awesome.

Love ya lots!

Your favorite son in the whole world
Elder Austin Cassell

Leave a Reply

