December 30th – Merry Weihnachten

December 30, 2013

I am WAYYYYYYYYYYY behind on the blog.  Like a month and 1/2 behind!  So I’m going to try to catch up.  Starting with Christmas!  🙂  Enjoy!

‘Sup Family,

It was so great to be able to talk to you guys on Skype!  It was fun!  And I am way impressed with the lack of waterworks on your end Madre! Nicely done! So what did you guys do after I was done talking to you? What did Cade and Blake get for Christmas outside of the sword (still laughing at his extreme level of nerdiness) and the desk? And I did like all of my presents! I use the rubiks cube a lot! I finally remembered how to solve it! I love little puzzle things like that to occupy my mind in our “down time”!

Well after I talked to you guys, Elder Rock and I went and watched a movie with the Jacobs. We watched a movie called “Facing the Giants”. It was made in like the 90s and wasn’t my first choice of what we would have watched, but it actually was really good! I definitely am happy that we watched it! I had never seen it before and had a good amount of humor, heart, and cheeziness. I was happy! It just really made me miss American Football. Good stuff right there.

For the rest of the Christmas time we just went to some other member homes for eating appointments which was nice. Other eventful things that happened this week:  This Saturday I was on a split in Bamberg, which was cool. We went to the hospital and gave a blessing to a woman who was a member from Utah and was just there on vacation, but got pretty sick. We gave her a blessing and she was crying because she was so happy to see us. It was a really sweet experience. Other than that, not a whole lot has been going on since I talked to you on Wednesday.

So for New Years Eve and New Years we are not doing a lot. On New Years Eve we actually have to be inside of our apartments by 6:00 no exceptions. Apparently NYE is pretty crazy here. It makes sense. The Germans like to get drunk and then go play with fireworks. Bad combination for missionaries. So we’ll just be planning and hanging out in our apartment. We’ll probably order a pizza and play a game or something.

Things are going pretty good between Elder Rock and I.  We are both pretty chill.  We get along though, and he can be a pretty big dork like me when he wants to, so it’s fun.

I just sent a letter to President, we do that every week, and I got just a text back from him just saying how much he enjoyed my letter and that he was thankful that I was serving in his home ward, so that was cool! He did spell my name Elder Cassel, though. It’s okay, he does things like that a lot. One of his AP’s was Elder Jardine, pronounced “jar dine” and for the entire time he was AP, President would mispronounce his name and say Elder “jar deen” no matter how many times Elder Jardine would correct him. You gotta love President!

Well today for Pday we are gonna have a district Pday in Bamberg to celebrate Sister Fuller’s birthday, which was yesterday. Hopefully it’ll be fun.

Well gotta go! Love and miss you guys!

Love Elder Austin Cassell
SAM_1107e 2013-12-25 12.07.33Ew

 

Leave a Reply

