January 27, 2014 – Interviews and Haircuts

This week was a pretty cool week. One of the things that was really nice was that I was able to meet with President Schwartz on Thursday, and I was able to have an interview with him. It lasted about 20 minutes and was really good. It is amazing how he can pretty much just look into your eyes and just see into your soul. It’s cool. He says all of the right things that each missionary needs to hear at the time, and just completely motivates you to be the best missionary that you can be. So that was good to have an interview, I hadn’t had one since my first transfer, and right now I am on my sixth.

We also had a baptism this Saturday. It was for a boy named Marcel, and he was one of the sister’s investigators, and is the son of a new member of the ward who got baptized last year. It was an awesome experience. And a couple of our investigators were able to come and watch, so that was really good.

Let’s see what else happened this week that was interesting:  I cut my hair by myself for the first time on my mission. Well almost all by myself. Elder Rock got the back for me, because I can’t see that part. It turned out pretty well, I have to say! I could have a promising career as a hair cutter if I wanted to!   Hahaha.  Yeah, that’s not gonna happen.

Well I’ll tell you about some of our investigators:  We are teaching a 53 year old American who works here as a ballet director (he has a wife and two super cute kids).  We don’t get to meet with him very often though. He’s hard to meet with.

We are teaching Ray who is in his fourties and is from Cuba. His wife just passed away back in November. She died in a plane crash. He’s a really good guy, and I think we are helping him a lot. We haven’t really taught him very much yet, because he is dealing with a lot of stuff, but he’s a really great guy.

All of our other investigators are students from the college in our area, but none of them are really progressing right now which is kinda frustrating.  We actually have a street display scheduled for this Saturday, so that should be pretty sweet, and hopefully we will meet some new people. 

Tell Cade to send me information on Sherlock (a BBC show they both like).  I want it. I’m proud that he is obsessed.   Oh – you asked about the singing guy.  The singing guy is awesome. He walks around Coburg with either his boombox or his wife, and just sings at the top of his lungs. Badly. He makes me happy. I’ve only seen him once, though.

Well yeah, I gotta go. Gotta send pictures. Hopefully I’ll have more cool stories next week!

Love you!
Elder Austin Cassell

Leave a Reply

