Branch Presidency in Coburg

Note from Kelly (Mom):  This is from last week.  I could not post it, because there was some information that could not be public last week, but now that it’s official – I can post the letter.  This week’s letter will follow!

Sup Family,

I see that y’all are still in the tradition of making the cake on the birthday, and then actually getting to eat it a few days later. How is it that we always seem to do that in our family!? We are super special. Well mother dearest I am glad that you enjoyed my email (Austin was able to send me a few pictures and a quick “Happy Birthday” email on my birthday!  A very happy surprise!!!)  .  The lederhosen was expensive, but it was totally worth it! Elder Rock and I both were really happy with our purchases. I pretty much got exactly what I wanted. I wanted darker colored lederhosen, just because I prefer darker to lighter, with a green shirt. I wasn’t sure whether to get above or below knee, though. In the end, though, we both decided to get above knee because it was just way more comfy and looked cooler/funnier/sexier (lulz). I tried on the longer ones too, and they just were a bigger pain to put on, and were not as comfy. The short ones, though, are way comfy. I’ve worn them around the apartment a few times just for fun. The only things that the longer ones have in advantage is that they are a little warmer (which I don’t really care too much about) but the one thing that almost made me buy them was that I could look much more hobbit like in the longer ones! But I like the ones that I got. Cade would just be disappointed.

Lederhosen!

Lederhosen!

IMG_2429Ew IMG_2430ESw

So after we went and bought the hosen, Elder Rock, all four of the Bamberg Elders, and I all went to the Docu centrum museum in Nürnberg. It was a pretty cool museum. It was in one of the uncompleted congress halls that Hitler had started building during the Third Reich. It was all about Nürnberg’s association with WW2 and the Nürnberg trials that happened there. It was pretty crazy. Really interesting and really cool. I took a few pictures. Which reminds me I still need to buy a new camera  (his broke).

Well the rest of my time with Elder Rock we just tried to meet with some investigators and friends of the church so that Elder Rock could say goodbye. Then on Thursday I got paired with Elder Brandner. He and I have been getting along really well. We both want to work hard and make cool things happen, but he’s pretty relaxed about it, and fun, so I am looking forward to this transfer. Oh yeah so we moved into the new apartment. It is really nice and big, and stuff, but the problem right now is just that we don’t have a kitchen or a washing machine, so we have to make all of our food at the church (which isn’t too big of a deal since we live like 3 minutes away from the church building) and we have to wash our clothes once a week at a laundromat, which is expensive, so that sucks. But I like the new place, so that is good.

We had the musical this Friday, and it went pretty good. It was cheesy and a little lame, but whatevs. We had some of our investigators come which was really cool! We saw some good things come from it. And it was all recorded, so it’ll probably be put on the mission blog, so y’all will be able to see it. (I will post a link if it shows up on the mission blog.)

Well in some interesting news, I got an interesting call this week. On Friday President Schwartz called me and said “Elder Cassell has President Keil (my branch president) talked to you about your calling yet?” I told him no and that I didn’t know what he meant. He then said “Oh okay, that’s probably because he still has to talk to the stake president about it. Anyways he already talked to me about it, and you are allowed to accept your calling, just know that President Keil trusts you, and so do I. Okay I’ve got to go bye.” And then he hung up. And I was really confused for a long time. Then on Saturday at Stake conference (we had that this week it was really good, we watched a live video stream that Elder Bednar and Elder Hales did for the German speaking stakes. And it was really cool because Elder Bednar spoke his whole talk in German, since he served his mission in Germany!)  Anyways, President Keil and the Stake President pull me into an office and told me that they wanted to call me as President Keil’s second counselor.  He told me that he once had a missionary as a counselor a long time ago, like in the eighties, and it worked well, but he hasn’t felt needed to call any other Elders as a counselor since, but he felt like I was the Elder for the job.  So yeah, I just got my humility check, because as of this next Sunday (that’s when I’ll officially start, until then nobody else knows that I will be except Elder Brandner) –  I’m gonna have a lot more responsibility on my hands. But it’ll be cool, I feel like I’ll learn a lot. I also feel like that means that I am gonna stay in Coburg for a long time. Which I’m cool with, I like it here. I’m just not sure why I am the one being called. I don’t feel like I have done anything really special to really earn this calling, but it’ll be a cool experience.

Well gotta go, gotta do pday stuff. Love you guys! Have a good week!

Love, Elder Austin Cassell

Leave a Reply

