May 5th, 2014 – A Transfer to Koblenz!

5/3: Hey I am getting transferred! I’m going to Koblenz, and I will be serving with Elder Black. I haven’t really heard anything about the area or my new comp.  All I’ve heard is that the area is pretty, and that apparently I will be living with four elders! We’ll see!

5/5: It’s 7:30 here, and we have to do emails and get all of our stuff taken care of early this morning, so that we can catch the 11:20 train to Bamberg so that we can have district pday. Elder Wojahn, one of the Elders in my district, is going home on Thursday. So for his last p-day he wanted everyone to come down, so that we can go to the castle in Bamberg, and then all play frisbee. I’ve decided that I am going to wear my lederhosen. (my response was “oh no – you wouldn’t!” ) Oh doch. I am. And it will be awesome! It’s my last pday to really do it. In Bayern it’s at least somewhat common. Everywhere else I’d just be looking like a fool.
I’m fairly sad to leave Coburg, but I am pretty excited to go to Koblenz. I haven’t really heard much about the place. Just that it is really pretty, and that apparently I live with three other Elders. And I know absolutely nothing about Elder Black. Nobody that I have talked to has heard of him, so I am guessing that he is a younger missionary.

They did announce who were the senior and junior comps during the transfer calls, but I didn’t hear it. I was surprised that I was leaving, I thought I would stay. All of a sudden I just heard “and he will be joined by Elder Castle” – so it took me a second to realize that that was me, and all I heard was that it was in Koblenz. Somebody else in the district had to tell me that I was with Elder Black.

The branch seemed to all be pretty sad. A bunch of people said that they would miss me, that I was funny, that I gave good talks, that I was so cheerful, etc. My branch president was pretty shocked that I got transferred. I think that he thought that I was gonna stay for a little while longer. We had an appointment yesterday with a part-member family that we have helped a lot, and their 8 year old daughter said that I was the best missionary that they ever had, and that I need to move back to Coburg after the mission, and then marry her when she turns 23. Somehow I don’t think that that is going to work out.

She’s a cute little thing. I got a picture of her hanging on to my arm telling me that I was not allowed to be transferred. I’m uploading that and a few other pictures on dropbox, by the way.

Yeah you told about everyone. It’s weird that all of your friends get married while you are on a mission. It’s a stereotype, but it is so true! But in preparation for my imminent return, who are the babes of Flower Mound at the moment? lulz
I think that Cade will like BYU. Everyone loves Lord of the Rings. He’ll be okay.

By the way, something that I have learned from you, my dear mother: I am good at taking pictures for people. People suck at taking pictures for me. I always make sure that I get good lighting, don’t cut off people’s heads, get good positioning and angles, etc. And everyone else seems to not know that.

I don’t have any idea when I can skype on Mother’s Day. I am pretty much just gonna have to try and figure stuff out once I get into Koblenz.

So anything else going on this week? And has Kira acted any different now that A-Rod is gone?  I was pretty sad, but I handled it better than I thought I would. I guess like ever since I left I knew that someday I would get that email, so I had already been built up and ready for it. It’s almost like a relief, to be honest. It’s over for me I guess. It’s just weird. It’s really weird now when people ask me how many pets I have. But whatever.

Something strange that has happened on my mission is that I still am like a stone when it comes to crying about sad things. But I seem to be getting more crying sensitive to like touching things. I haven’t cried yet on my mission, but I get close sometimes. It’s annoying. I had to hold back some tears the other day while listening to the How to Train your Dragon soundtrack. And the Harry Potter soundtrack. What the heck. This mission is making me go all soft, and I don’t like it.
I take pride in the fact that I do not cry. It means that I am awesome and a man. Tell Blake that I am proud of him!

I think that Wednesday night I will be overnighting in Würzburg. And then Thursday morning I will catch the train to take me to Frankfurt, and from there I will go to Koblenz. Elder Newell will be replacing me. From my district Elder Wojahn is going home, Elder King is going to Bonn, Elder Palmer is moving into the other apartment in Bamberg, and Elder Jackson is getting a golden.

So other things that happened this week: we celebrated Elder Brandner’s year mark by going to a Chinese buffet. It was tasty but expensive. Bamberg had a baptism here in Coburg on Saturday. That’s pretty much everything interesting. But now I gotta go! Talk to y’all later! Love y’all!

Last Week in Coburg SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Leave a Reply

