Koblenz

Hey it is not my fault that I was transferred areas and there wasn’t any kind of plan already made out where we could skype!  You can blame the Elders and the members here! Well anyways it’s all good because we will be able to skype y’all next week. We are probably gonna end up doing it either here in the church or over at a member’s house. I’ll keep y’all posted.

Well anyways I did indeed arrive in Koblenz on Thursday. I actually did not have to leave too much of my crap behind. Just a couple of small things. I am an expert packer and was able to get all of my crap to fit into my suitcases. Probably because I played so much tetris back in the day. I was a little sad to leave Coburg, but I am happy to be able to come to Koblenz. We didn’t do anything in particularly special before I left Coburg. I said goodbye to some of the people that we know. I had a goodbye appointment with Karin before I left, and she bought me this cool mug that is all black, but then turns into a cool picture of Coburg once you add a hot liquid to it.

Koblenz is a really pretty area! It’s a different kind of pretty than Coburg was. I just really liked the train ride that we took from Frankfurt to Koblenz. We pretty much rode alongside the river all along the way there, and we could see a ton of castles, churches, forests, cliffs, and just a bunch of really cool and pretty things all along the way! This really is probably one of the most beautiful places in the mission! Probably in Germany, not gonna lie.

So I thought that the four Elders here would all be living in the same apartment, but I guess that someone had given me some outdated information. There are four elders here, but they have had two separate apartments for about two transfers or so. But luckily Elder Black and I live in the nicer apartment. It is on the Rhine, and has a really cool view of the city! It is also new so has all new stuff! And a dishwasher! That really made me happy! It’s been so long since I have used one of those things!

Elder Black seems like a good enough guy. Like all of my companions before him, he comes from Utah. There’s a shock. I really hope that my next companion comes from somewhere else! I’m gonna slap somebody if all of my companions come from Utah! This transfer is his sixth, so he has been out three transfers less than I have been. So I am the senior companion. It is strange being the senior companion. Now I seem to be the one that has to kind of know what to do and where to go, and take the phone when Elder Black cannot understand what somebody is saying. It is just funny!  I don’t know very much about Elder Black yet, but I think that we will get along fine.

The other two Elders in the area are Elder Burger and his golden Elder Sauve. Elder Burger is a little older than I am in terms of mission age, and seems like a pretty cool guy. Elder Sauve seems like he could be pretty cool, but we’ll see. Right now he just seems to be really shy and not very talkative. But that is how most goldens are at the beginning. Not me. I talked my head off since day one. All of my companions have said that I talk the most out of all of their companions, and hopefully Elder Black will say the same thing. But I guess he has had some pretty talkative companions in the past, so I have a challenge in store for me.

So far I really like the branch here! It’s funny because here we have about 80 or so active members, so the most amount of members that I have had so far in my areas, yet this is the only branch that I have had that has not had it’s own real building! We have a floor in a big office work building that we use. It is definitely not traditional, but it works. I like it. It’s actually pretty big, and looks pretty good. I’ll try and get you guys pictures. But the members all seem pretty cool! On Saturday we had a soccer game activity thing that some of the members showed up to, with some less actives and some non members, and it was pretty good. It just reaffirmed the fact that I really tend to suck at soccer. I don’t like that sport. Which is unfortunate because all of Germany loves the stupid sport. Anyways we have had some good termines “meetings” (Austin is now throwing in random German words apparently!) so far with some of the members, so that is good. I am hoping that we will have some more member appointments this week.

The one thing that really isn’t all that great about this area is the fact that we only have one investigator at the moment. I haven’t met him yet, so I don’t really know anything about him. But basically we are going to be spending a lot of time trying to find some new investigators. Yay. But it’s all good.

And next week I will ask President Schwartz if I could meet with Brad and Maryann when they come down here! That’d be cool! It shouldn’t be a problem. Elder Rock was able to go have lunch with his sister at some point when she came through Germany. So I’m guessing meeting an uncle and his family would be fine! So you can tell them that they could come meet with us if they want to!  (Brian’s brother, sister-in-law, and two nieces are cruising the Rhine, and happen to be stopping in Koblenz!)

Well I think that is really all I have to report on for the week. I guess I will talk to you guys on Sunday! Does that time go for you?  Just email me when you guys have time, and I will try to email you guys around that time.

Well gotta go! Love you! See you on Sunday!

PS:  Thanks for telling me about Ka’imi, I was able to write to him.  It really sucks.  Keep me updated on him and how he’s doing.
EltzCastle3  Schloss_Stolzenfels_Koblenz Koblenz3 55531413 55531068 stolzenfels_castle-koblenz-flrs-foto
Leave a Reply

